Group photo
A Personal Injury, Workers' Compensation and Defense Base Act Law Firm Fighting for the Injured.

Miami, Florida Workers’ Compensation Lawyer

Attorneys Jo Ann Hoffman and Associates, P.A. are highly experienced in both workers’ compensation law and personal injury law. If you have been hurt while working for a Miami, Florida employer, you may be able to get workers’ compensation benefits. These benefits can help to pay for both your medical bills and your lost wages while away from work. Workers’ compensation isn’t limited to injuries that happen where you work. It can also be for injuries that happen outside of work, as long as you were “on the clock” when you were injured. An example of this is if you are hurt while running an errand for your employer. You don’t have to be hurt while working for a Miami, Florida employer for Attorneys Jo Ann Hoffman and Associates to help you. We have over 70 years of combined experience helping people with their workers’ compensation claims throughout the State of Florida. If you do not live nearby, we offer free telephone consultations to talk about your possible claim.

The most recent Florida Division of Workers’ Compensation numbers show that 26,140 employees were hurt in Florida in 2008. With such high numbers of Florida employees being hurt every year, it is very important that you have an experienced workers’ compensation lawyer to help you if you have been hurt on the job. At Attorneys Jo Ann Hoffman and Associates, P.A., we have a knowledgeable team of lawyers who will work together with you to help you get the greatest amount of workers’ compensation benefits that you deserve under the law.

If you have been hurt on the job, please look at this important information about Florida workers’ compensation:

  1. You must report your injury to your employer no later than 30 days after your injury or your claim may be denied.

  2. Your employer must tell its insurance company about your injury within 7 days after you report your injury to your employer.

  3. Your employer’s insurance company must send you an informational brochure about workers’ compensation within 3 days after your employer tells the insurance company about your injury.

  4. If you qualify for workers’ compensation benefits, you don’t have to pay for any medical bills related to your on-the-job injury.

  5. In most cases where you qualify for workers’ compensation benefits, you are able to get a benefit check every two weeks for 66% of your average weekly wage.

  6. Even in cases of the worst kinds of on-the-job injuries, you are only able to get benefit checks for up to 104 weeks (2 years).

  7. It is illegal for your employer to fire you because you have filed or have tried to file a workers’ compensation claim.

  8. You don’t qualify to get unemployment compensation if you are already getting workers’ compensation benefits. Do not apply for unemployment compensation or you will be guilty of unemployment compensation fraud, a third-degree felony.

As you can see, a lot of things in workers’ compensation situations must be taken care of quickly. So if you have just been hurt on the job, please call Attorneys Jo Ann Hoffman and Associates, P.A. in Miami, Florida at (305) 624-2255 today. If you think you have a case, you can fill out our online CONTACT US form and email it to our office. We accept all of our cases on a contingency fee basis. This means that we never charge you any fees or costs unless we get monies from your employer’s insurance companies. Also, our consultations are always free. We look forward to your call and to helping you.

For more information on workers’ compensation injuries, please visit our Florida Workers Compensation Lawyers Blog.